West Virginia Contractor Licenses: Updated Requirements Guide
West Virginia regulates contractor and trade credentials at the state level. Core trade licenses and contractor classifications are issued through state agencies, with cities and counties mainly handling permits and local business registration. If you plan to bid or perform work that meets state thresholds, you will need the appropriate state credential before starting.
We highlight several representative licenses and authorities for West Virginia below; this guide is updated periodically as additional details are curated. You will see how electrical, plumbing, HVAC, general building, roofing, and key specialty trades are credentialed, who regulates them, which exams apply, and what fees and insurance typically look like in West Virginia.
Use the Quick Navigation to jump to your trade. Each section identifies the correct state authority, exam vendor where applicable, and renewal cadence, so you can plan your application, scheduling, and compliance steps with confidence.
Quick Navigation
Overview of West Virginia Contractor Licensing
West Virginia credentials contractors and trades through multiple state authorities. The West Virginia Division of Labor oversees statewide contractor licensing and administers trade certifications for plumbers, HVAC technicians, and elevator mechanics. The West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board, housed within the Division of Labor, issues contractor classifications for general building, general engineering, residential, multifamily, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, roofing, and numerous specialties.
The West Virginia State Fire Marshal licenses individual electricians (master, journeyman, and specialties) and regulates fire protection workers (such as sprinkler layout technicians and sprinkler fitters). Environmental and public health specialties are handled by the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR) Office of Environmental Health Services and the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). Local jurisdictions generally focus on building permits and inspections rather than trade licensing.
Exam delivery depends on the credential. Contractor licensing and most Division of Labor trade exams (plumbing, HVAC, elevator) are administered by ProV. Electrician and certain fire protection and environmental exams are conducted directly by the State Fire Marshal, DHHR, or DEP. Details for each trade are provided in the sections below.
Browse all West Virginia contractor license practice tests →
Electrician Licenses in West Virginia
West Virginia regulates electrical work with 8 license types.
Master Electrician License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- Minimum 24 months or 4,000 hours of above‑ground hands‑on electrical experience across all phases of wiring and installation.
- Experience-based pathway; vocational training does not substitute for required hours.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Written master electrician exam based on the 2023 NFPA 70 (NEC). Approximately 50 multiple-choice questions, two points each; minimum passing score 70%.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Examination: $25
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $50
Insurance
Insurance is not required for the individual master license. To contract independently, a separate contractor license and required business insurance are needed.
Renewal
Annual renewal; electrician licenses expire June 30 each year.
Journeyman Electrician License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- Minimum 12 months or 2,000 hours of above‑ground hands‑on experience under a licensed journeyman or master; OR completion of an approved apprenticeship; OR completion of a WV 1,080-hour electrical vocational program with on-the-job training.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Journeyman exam based on the 2023 NEC. Approximately 50 multiple-choice questions, two points each; minimum passing score 70%.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Examination: $25
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $50
Insurance
Not required for the individual journeyman license. Separate contractor licensing and insurance are required to contract for work.
Renewal
Annual; licenses expire June 30.
Source: WV Code §29-3B
Specialty Electrician License – Electric Sign
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- 24 months or 4,000 hours of above‑ground hands‑on experience specifically in electric sign work.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
NEC‑based specialty exam for electric sign work; minimum passing score 70%.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Examination: $25
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $50
Insurance
Not required for the individual specialty license. Businesses contracting for sign work must hold the appropriate contractor license and insurance.
Renewal
Annual; June 30 expiration.
Specialty Electrician License – HVAC
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- 24 months or 4,000 hours of hands‑on electrical experience in HVAC wiring and controls.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
NEC‑based specialty HVAC electrician exam; minimum passing score 70%.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Examination: $25
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $50
Insurance
Not required for the individual specialty credential. Contractors performing HVAC scopes must also meet contractor licensing and insurance requirements when thresholds apply.
Renewal
Annual.
Specialty Electrician License – Low Voltage
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- 24 months or 4,000 hours of documented low‑voltage electrical work (typically systems at 50–80 volts or less).
- Experience in systems such as fire alarm, security, sound, or data cabling.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Low‑voltage specialty exam covering relevant NEC articles and related codes; minimum passing score 70%.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Examination: $25
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $50
Insurance
Not required for the individual credential. Low‑voltage contractors must hold an appropriate contractor license for projects at or above state thresholds.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: WV Code §29-3B-3
Specialty Electrician License – Single Family Dwelling
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- 24 months or 4,000 hours of residential wiring experience focused on single‑family dwellings.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
NEC‑based single‑family dwelling electrical exam; approximately 50 questions; 70% minimum to pass.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Examination: $25
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $50
Insurance
Not required for the individual specialty license. Contracting for full residential projects requires appropriate contractor licensing.
Renewal
Annual.
Temporary Electrician License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- Applicants must have completed an approved WV 1,080‑hour electrical vocational program or a U.S. Department of Labor apprenticeship, plus minimum supervised work hours.
- Issued once, valid up to 90 days, typically to allow work while awaiting the next exam date.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
No separate temporary exam. The temporary license allows practice while awaiting the next State Fire Marshal exam administration.
Fees
- Application: $50
- Examination: $0
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: Not applicable (non‑renewable)
Insurance
Not required for the individual temporary license. Contracting requires a licensed electrical contractor.
Renewal
Non‑renewable; single 90‑day period.
Electrical Contractor License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Qualifying individual must hold a WV journeyman or master electrician license issued by the State Fire Marshal.
- Business registration, workers’ compensation, and unemployment coverage as applicable.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Trade exam plus West Virginia Contractor Business & Law exam administered by ProV; computer‑based; minimum passing score 70% on each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability is required. Employers must maintain workers’ compensation and comply with wage bond requirements where applicable.
Renewal
Annual. No formal CE for the contractor license; maintain any CE tied to the underlying electrician credential.
Plumbing Licenses in West Virginia
West Virginia regulates plumbing work with 4 license types.
Master Plumber License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – Plumber Certification — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/plumber-certification
Eligibility
- At least 8,000 hours of plumbing or related experience plus at least one additional year of journeyman‑level work before sitting for the master exam.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Master plumber exam administered by ProV on the International Plumbing Code as adopted in West Virginia. Open‑book; approximately 80–100 questions; 3 hours; 70% to pass.
Fees
- Application: $75
- Exam: $59.95
- Initial License: $75
- Annual Renewal: $75
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required for the individual master license. Plumbing contractors must obtain a contractor license and maintain required business insurance and any wage bond obligations.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: WV DOL – Plumber Certification
Journeyman Plumber License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – Plumber Certification — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/plumber-certification
Eligibility
- At least 8,000 hours (about 4 years) of supervised plumbing or related experience.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Journeyman plumber exam administered by ProV. Open‑book; 80 questions; 3 hours; 70% to pass. Topics include general knowledge, fixtures, drainage, fuel gas, isometrics, water supply, heaters, DWV systems, math, and tools.
Fees
- Application: $75
- Exam: $59.95
- Initial License: $75
- Annual Renewal: $75
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required for the individual journeyman license. Independent contracting requires a contractor license and business insurance.
Renewal
Annual.
Plumber‑In‑Training Certification
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – Plumber Certification — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/plumber-certification
Eligibility
- Entry‑level registration to document supervised experience under a licensed journeyman or master plumber.
- Minimum age 18; must work under licensed supervision.
Exam
No written examination. This credential functions as a registration while hours are accumulated toward journeyman eligibility.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Initial License: $25
- Annual Renewal: $25
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
Not an independent practice license; supervised work only.
Renewal
Annual.
Plumbing Contractor License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Qualifying individual must hold a WV journeyman or master plumber license and be an owner, officer, or full‑time employee of the business.
- WV business registration and, where applicable, Secretary of State filings; workers’ compensation and unemployment accounts as required.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Plumbing trade exam plus West Virginia Contractor Business & Law exam via ProV; 70% minimum to pass each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability is required. Employers must carry workers’ compensation; wage bond may apply to construction employers.
Renewal
Annual. No CE for the contractor license itself; maintain any CE tied to the qualifying plumber credential.
HVAC Licenses in West Virginia
West Virginia regulates HVAC contractors and technicians with 4 license types.
HVAC Technician Certification
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – HVAC Technician Certification — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/hvac-technician-certification
Eligibility
- At least 2,000 hours of HVAC‑related work, training, and experience (career technical education, apprenticeship, or employer training may count).
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
ProV‑administered written exam, typically 80 questions in 3 hours; 70% to pass. Topics include load calculations, code, controls, ducting, insulation, piping, safety, and equipment.
Fees
- Application: $75
- Exam: $59.95
- Initial License: $75
- Annual Renewal: $75
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required for the individual technician certification. Employers performing contracting work above state thresholds must also hold the appropriate contractor license and insurance.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: WV DOL – HVAC Certification
HVAC Residential Technician Certification
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – HVAC Technician Certification — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/hvac-technician-certification
Eligibility
- Experience or training focused on residential heating, ventilation, and cooling systems, generally meeting the 2,000‑hour threshold.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
ProV‑administered residential HVAC exam; 70% to pass. Content parallels the general HVAC exam with residential emphasis.
Fees
- Application: $50
- Exam: $59.95
- Initial License: $50
- Annual Renewal: $50
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required for the individual residential technician certification. Contractors must hold appropriate licenses and insurance where thresholds apply.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: HVAC Certification FAQ
HVAC Technician‑In‑Training Certification
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – HVAC Technician Certification — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/hvac-technician-certification
Eligibility
- Entry‑level registration for supervised HVAC work while accumulating hours toward full technician or residential technician certification.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
No written exam for this registration tier.
Fees
- Application: $25
- Initial License: $25
- Annual Renewal: $25
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
Registration credential only; not an independent practice license.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: HVAC Certification FAQ
Contractor License – HVAC Classification
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Qualifying individual with appropriate WV HVAC technician credentials.
- WV business registration and, if applicable, Secretary of State filings; workers’ compensation and unemployment coverage as required.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
HVAC trade exam and West Virginia Contractor Business & Law exam via ProV; 70% minimum on each portion.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability is required. Employers must carry workers’ compensation; wage bond may apply where required.
Renewal
Annual. No CE for the contractor license; maintain any CE for underlying HVAC certifications.
General Contractor Licenses in West Virginia
West Virginia general contractor licensing includes 4 types.
Contractor License – General Building Contractor (Class B)
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Designate a qualifying individual (owner, officer, or full‑time employee) who demonstrates competency by passing required examinations; experience is considered by the Board.
- WV business registration and, where applicable, Secretary of State filings; workers’ compensation and unemployment coverage; wage bond compliance as required.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
General Building trade exam plus West Virginia Contractor Business & Law exam via ProV; 70% minimum to pass each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability required; workers’ compensation for employers; unemployment coverage and wage bond where applicable.
Renewal
Annual.
Contractor License – General Engineering Contractor (Class A)
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Qualifying individual demonstrates experience in heavy civil/engineering projects and passes required exams.
- WV business registration, Secretary of State filings if applicable, workers’ compensation and unemployment coverage; wage bond compliance as required.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
General Engineering trade exam and WV Contractor Business & Law exam via ProV; computer‑based; 70% minimum on each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability required; workers’ compensation for employers; unemployment coverage; wage bond where applicable.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: WV Code – Contractor Licensing Classifications
Exam Prep: PDF study guide with 1,500-2,500 questions, complete answer keys, and reference locators to exact code sections. Study offline; no time or use limits. WV General Engineering Contractor Practice Test.
Contractor License – Residential Contractor (Class B‑2)
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Qualifying individual with residential construction experience; exams required for issuance.
- WV business registration, Secretary of State filings if applicable, workers’ compensation and unemployment coverage; wage bond compliance as required.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Residential Contractor trade exam plus WV Business & Law exam via ProV; 70% minimum to pass each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability required; workers’ compensation for employers; wage bond where applicable.
Renewal
Annual.
Contractor License – Multifamily Contractor (Class B‑3)
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Qualifying individual with experience in multifamily residential construction; exams required for issuance.
- Standard contractor prerequisites: tax registration, entity registration as needed, workers’ compensation, unemployment accounts, and wage bond compliance.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Relevant trade examination plus West Virginia Contractor Business & Law exam through ProV; 70% minimum to pass each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability and workers’ compensation (if employing workers); wage bond where applicable.
Renewal
Annual.
Roofing Licenses in West Virginia
West Virginia regulates roofing contractors with 1 license type.
Contractor License – Roofing Specialty Classification
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Required when project value meets statutory contractor thresholds; experience is evaluated alongside exam performance.
- WV business registration and, when required, Secretary of State filings; workers’ compensation and unemployment coverage for employers.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Roofing specialty trade exam plus West Virginia Contractor Business & Law exam via ProV; 70% minimum to pass each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability required; workers’ compensation for employers; wage bond may apply.
Renewal
Annual.
Specialty Trade Licenses in West Virginia
West Virginia regulates specialty trades with 16 license types.
Contractor License – Sprinklers and Fire Protection Contractor
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (WV Division of Labor) — https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Eligibility
- Demonstrated fire sprinkler/fire protection installation experience; responsible individual must meet State Fire Marshal Fire Protection Work requirements (NICET Level III and four years of experience are typical technical prerequisites).
- Business registration, workers’ compensation, unemployment coverage, and wage bond compliance.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Sprinklers/Fire Protection trade exam plus WV Contractor Business & Law exam via ProV; 70% minimum to pass each.
Fees
- Application: $90
- Initial License: $90
- Annual Renewal: $90
- Late Penalty: $25
Insurance
General liability coverage of at least $500,000 is typically required in conjunction with Fire Protection Work licensing, plus workers’ compensation for employees.
Renewal
Annual. Maintain any NICET or manufacturer training required for the responsible individual.
Fire Protection Layout Technician License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- NICET Automatic Sprinkler System Layout Level III and proof of layout/design experience.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Competency is demonstrated primarily through NICET Level III; the State Fire Marshal reviews documentation and may impose additional assessment.
Fees
- Application: $50
- Initial License: $100
- Renewal: $175 (one‑year or three‑year options available with different fee levels)
Insurance
Not required for the individual layout technician license. Fire sprinkler contractors must hold separate contractor licensing and business insurance.
Renewal
One‑year or three‑year cycles; maintain NICET and any manufacturer‑specific training as required.
Source: State Fire Marshal – Fire Protection Licensing Packet
Journeyman Sprinkler Fitter License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- At least 2,000 hours of work installing, adjusting, repairing, and dismantling fire protection systems, with employer experience verification.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Competency may be demonstrated through NICET or similar certifications and State Fire Marshal review. A specific written exam vendor is not identified.
Fees
- Application: $50
- Initial License: $100
- Renewal: $175 (one‑year or three‑year options)
Insurance
Not required for the individual license; employers must hold contractor licensing and business insurance.
Renewal
One‑year or three‑year cycles.
Source: State Fire Marshal – Fire Protection Licensing Packet
Portable Fire Extinguisher Technician License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division — https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Eligibility
- Certification consistent with NFPA 10 and proof of competence in inspection, servicing, and maintenance of portable fire extinguishers.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Competency is shown through NFPA‑aligned training and certification; a separate standardized exam vendor is not specified.
Fees
- Application: $50
- Initial License: $50
- Renewal: $100 (one‑year or three‑year options)
Insurance
Not required for the individual license; businesses performing extinguisher services must comply with applicable contractor and insurance requirements where construction thresholds are met.
Renewal
One‑year or three‑year cycles.
Source: State Fire Marshal – Fire Protection Licensing Packet
Master Well Driller Certification
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Environmental Engineering Division — Water Well Certification Program
Eligibility
- At least two years (3,000 hours) as a Journeyman Well Driller, or six years of drilling experience for reciprocity pathways.
- Bonding and insurance per 64CSR19.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Pass the NGWA General Exam and one NGWA Specialty Exam (or WV well driller exam when applying via reciprocity); 70% minimum on each.
Fees
- Application: $150
- Exam: $75
- Initial License: $150
- Annual Renewal: $150
Insurance/Bonding
Liability insurance minimums: bodily injury $100,000 each person / $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence; $5,000 performance bond.
Renewal
Annual; 3 hours of CE in well drilling (additional pump‑related CE if installing pumps).
Journeyman Well Driller Certification
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Environmental Engineering Division — Water Well Certification Program
Eligibility
- At least two years (3,000 hours) of supervised drilling experience under a master or journeyman well driller (or four years of experience for reciprocity).
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
WV Journeyman Well Driller exam (administered by the WV Bureau for Public Health); 70% minimum to pass.
Fees
- Application: $100
- Exam: $25
- Initial License: $100
- Annual Renewal: $100
Insurance/Bonding
Covered under a master well driller’s performance bond and insurance.
Renewal
Annual; 2 hours of CE (additional pump‑related CE if installing pumps).
Pump Installer Certification
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Environmental Engineering Division — Water Well Certification Program
Eligibility
- Experience thresholds as specified in 64CSR19, typically several years of pump installation work.
- Minimum age 18; insurance and bonding per program requirements.
Exam
WV Pump Installer exam; 70% to pass.
Fees
- Application: $150
- Exam: $25
- Initial License: $150
- Annual Renewal: $150
Insurance/Bonding
Liability insurance and bonding aligned with well driller standards.
Renewal
Annual; 2 hours of CE (additional CE when installing pumping equipment).
Certified Monitoring Well Driller
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection – Groundwater/UIC Program — https://dep.wv.gov/WWE/Programs/gw/Pages/gwhome.aspx
Eligibility
- Experience requirements per 47CSR59; application through the DEP’s online PIE system.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
DEP‑administered written exam on monitoring well standards (no exam fee). Certification requires payment of annual recertification fees.
Fees
- Initial Certification: $200
- Annual Renewal: $200
Insurance
Insurance requirements are not specified by DEP for this certification; firms may have separate obligations under contractor licensing.
Renewal
Annual.
Source: WV DEP – Groundwater/UIC Program
Asbestos Worker License
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air (RTIA) — https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Eligibility
- Completion of a U.S. EPA‑approved asbestos worker course and any experience required in state rules.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Applicants must pass an examination administered as part of EPA‑approved training or a state process to confirm compliance with federal and state abatement requirements.
Fees, Insurance, Renewal
Contact WV DHHR RTIA to confirm fees, insurance minimums, experience documentation, and renewal details before applying.
Source: WV Code – Asbestos Abatement
Asbestos Contractor License
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air (RTIA) — https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Eligibility
- Organizational competence with management‑level personnel holding EPA‑approved training; must employ appropriately licensed asbestos workers and supervisors.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Qualifications are validated through training and documentation; examinations may be administered through state‑accredited asbestos training providers.
Insurance
Liability insurance is required under state rules.
Fees and Renewal
Contact WV DHHR RTIA to confirm current fees and renewal requirements before applying.
Source: WV Code – Asbestos Control Act
Asbestos Abatement Supervisor License
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air (RTIA) — https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Eligibility
- Field experience directing asbestos abatement projects and completion of an EPA‑approved supervisor course.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Supervisors must pass examinations associated with EPA‑approved training or state exams verifying oversight competency.
Fees, Insurance, Renewal
Contact WV DHHR RTIA to confirm fees, insurance requirements, and renewal cycles (including refresher training) before applying.
Asbestos Inspector License
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air (RTIA) — https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Eligibility
- Experience and training standards set by DHHR; completion of an EPA‑approved asbestos inspector course.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Examination is embedded in or associated with the EPA‑approved inspector training course; passing is required prior to licensing.
Fees, Insurance, Renewal
Contact WV DHHR RTIA to confirm fees, insurance, and renewal requirements before applying.
Asbestos Abatement Project Designer License
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air (RTIA) — https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Eligibility
- Appropriate background to design abatement projects and completion of an EPA‑approved project designer course.
- Minimum age 18.
Assessment
Designers must pass examinations associated with EPA‑approved designer training or state exams verifying competency in asbestos project design.
Fees, Insurance, Renewal
Contact WV DHHR RTIA to confirm fees, any insurance expectations, and renewal requirements before applying.
Lead Discipline License (Risk Assessment / Inspection / Abatement)
Regulatory Authority: WV DHHR – Office of Environmental Health Services, Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air (RTIA) — https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Eligibility
- Experience criteria defined in DHHR rules for specific lead disciplines (risk assessor, inspector, abatement worker).
- Completion of a state‑accredited training course for the specific discipline.
Assessment
Candidates must pass an exam given by a state‑accredited examiner following completion of the approved training course.
Fees, Insurance, Renewal
Contact WV DHHR RTIA to confirm discipline‑specific fees, insurance, and renewal/refresher requirements before applying.
Source: WV Code – Lead Abatement
Elevator Mechanic License
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – Elevator Licensing — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Completion of a registered elevator apprenticeship program or at least four years of recent, active elevator industry experience in construction, maintenance, or service/repair.
- Minimum age 18.
Exam
Written competency examination approved/provided by the Division of Labor and delivered via ProV; 70% minimum score required.
Fees
- Exam: $80
Insurance
Not required for the individual mechanic credential; mechanics must be employed by a contractor licensed under the WV Contractor Licensing Act for covered projects.
Renewal
Periodic per Division of Labor rules.
Elevator Apprentice Registration
Regulatory Authority: West Virginia Division of Labor – Elevator Licensing — https://labor.wv.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Entry‑level registration for individuals working toward an elevator mechanic license under supervision of licensed mechanics and contractors.
Exam
No separate state exam for apprentice registration; exam occurs at the mechanic level.
Fees, Insurance, Renewal
Contact the WV Division of Labor to confirm current apprentice registration fees and renewal details. Apprentices work under licensed elevator contractors who carry required insurance.
Application Process
- Confirm whether the planned work meets statutory thresholds that trigger state licensing. For contractor licenses, projects at or above the thresholds in the Contractor Licensing Act require a license.
- Identify the correct authority and license type: Contractor Licensing Board for business‑entity contractor licenses; State Fire Marshal for electricians and fire protection workers; Division of Labor for HVAC technicians, plumbers, and elevator mechanics; DHHR and DEP for environmental specialties.
- Meet prerequisite experience and training requirements (for example, 2,000–8,000 hours for many electrician, plumbing, and HVAC credentials, or the experience required for well driller certifications).
- Submit a complete application on authority‑supplied forms, including identity documents, Social Security Number, verified experience, training certificates, and any background checks.
- Schedule and pass required examinations with the designated vendor—ProV for most Division of Labor trade credentials and contractor licenses—or with the authority where exams are administered directly.
- Complete business registrations and insurance for contractor‑level licenses: WV business registration, Secretary of State filings (if applicable), workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, and wage bond compliance.
- Pay all applicable fees (application, examination, initial license). Licenses are issued after documents and exam scores are verified and fees are processed.
- Maintain active licensure by renewing on schedule, paying renewal fees, and completing any required CE or refresher training for your trade or specialty.
Timeline: Once exams are passed and documentation is in order, processing times for most West Virginia construction‑trade licenses range from several weeks to a few months, depending on the authority and the completeness of the application.
Reciprocity
West Virginia offers reciprocity pathways primarily for electricians through the State Fire Marshal. Master, journeyman, and specialty electricians from certain jurisdictions may qualify if they hold equivalent licenses, meet West Virginia’s minimum experience, provide a current license copy and a letter of good standing, and pay applicable fees. Contractor licensing may recognize certain national trade exams (such as NASCLA General Building) for specific classifications; however, all applicants must still pass the West Virginia Business & Law exam and meet business, insurance, and wage bond requirements. Most other trades (plumbers, HVAC technicians, well drillers, asbestos/lead disciplines, elevator mechanics, and fire protection workers) generally follow West Virginia’s application and examination processes unless the responsible agency confirms otherwise.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does it take to get a contractor or trade license in West Virginia?
After you pass required exams and submit complete documentation, most approvals take from several weeks to a few months, depending on the authority and application completeness.
Can I transfer my out-of-state license to West Virginia?
Electricians may qualify for reciprocity through the State Fire Marshal if their out‑of‑state license is equivalent and they meet West Virginia’s experience and good‑standing requirements. For contractor licensing, some national trade exams may be accepted for certain classifications, but you must still apply to the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board and pass the WV Business & Law exam while meeting business, insurance, and wage bond requirements. Most other trades generally require completing West Virginia’s application and examination steps unless the responsible agency confirms otherwise.
What happens if I fail an exam?
Retake policies and waiting periods are set by the exam provider or authority. Review the applicable candidate bulletin (for example, ProV) or contact the regulating agency for current retake rules and fees.
Do I need insurance?
Business‑entity contractor licenses require general liability insurance and, if you employ workers, workers’ compensation and unemployment coverage; wage bond obligations may apply to construction employers. Individual trade licenses (for example, journeyman/master electrician, journeyman/master plumber, HVAC technician) typically do not require insurance unless you are also contracting as a business.
How do I renew my license?
Most contractor and trade credentials renew annually. Electrician licenses renew each year with a June 30 expiration. Some fire protection worker credentials may offer one‑ or three‑year options. Always check your specific authority’s renewal notices.
Do cities or counties issue contractor licenses in West Virginia?
Core contractor and trade credentials are issued at the state level. Local jurisdictions typically require building permits, inspections, and local business registrations that apply in addition to state licensure.
Where can I find practice tests for West Virginia exams?
We offer comprehensive PDF study guides typically with 1,500–2,500 questions, answer keys for every question, and reference locators pointing to exact code sections. Study offline at your own pace; no time or use limits. Browse West Virginia contractor practice tests.
West Virginia · Practice tests
West Virginia contractor license practice tests
The West Virginia practice tests we publish today: comprehensive PDF guides, typically 1,500 to 2,500 questions each, with full answer keys and reference locators to the exact code sections. We add new tests regularly, so if your license isn’t listed here, contact us and we’ll build it.
- Business, Law, and Project Management (NASCLA) Reference Practice Test
- Installing Hardwood Flooring NOFMA - Reference Practice Test
- National Electrical Code (NEC) 2017 Practice Test
- West Virginia Business and Law - Practice Test
- WV General Building Contractor License - Practice Test
- WV General Engineering Contractor License Practice Test
Related Official Resources
Official Sources for Further Details:
-
West Virginia Division of Labor – Licensing Section
https://labor.wv.gov/licensing
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board
https://wvclboard.wv.gov/
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Code §30-42-6 – Necessity for Contractor License
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/30-42-6/
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Division of Labor – Plumber Certification
https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/plumber-certification
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
Plumber Certification FAQ – West Virginia Division of Labor
https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/plumber-certification/plumber-certification-faq
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Code §§21-14-2 and 21-14-3 – Plumber Licensing
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/21-14-3/
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
HVAC Technician Certification – West Virginia Division of Labor
https://labor.wv.gov/licensing/hvac-technician-certification
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Regulatory and Licensing Division
https://firemarshal.wv.gov/regulatory-and-licensing-division
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia State Fire Marshal – Electrical Licensure by Reciprocity Application
Electrical Reciprocity Application (PDF)
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Code §29-3B – Electrical Licensing
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/29-3B-2/
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Water Well Certification Program – WV DHHR
https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/eed/certification-training/waterwell-certification-program/
Official Program Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
Groundwater/UIC Program – West Virginia DEP
https://dep.wv.gov/WWE/Programs/gw/Pages/gwhome.aspx
Official Program Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
OEHS Licensing Program – WV DHHR Radiation, Toxics & Indoor Air
https://oehs.wvdhhr.org/rtia/licensing/
Official Program Site | Accessed: 2026-08-20 -
West Virginia Elevator Licensing Law and Rules
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/21-3C/
State Statute/Regulation | Accessed: 2026-08-20
Important Disclaimer
Information Currency: This guide reflects licensing information as available in 2026. Licensing requirements are subject to change without notice. Always verify current requirements with official sources.
Official Source: For current information, start with the West Virginia Division of Labor – Licensing portal:
- Website: https://labor.wv.gov/licensing
- Phone: 304-558-7890
No Legal Advice: This guide provides general information only. Consult with the licensing board or a qualified professional for guidance specific to your situation.
Local Requirements: In addition to state licensure, local permits, inspections, and business registrations may be required by cities or counties where work is performed.
