Vermont Contractor Licenses: Updated Requirements Guide
Contractor licensing in Vermont is administered at the state level by a few specialized agencies. The Division of Fire Safety oversees electricians, plumbers, elevator and conveyance personnel, and several fire protection technician certifications. The Secretary of State’s Office of Professional Regulation handles Residential Contractor Registration and well driller licensing, while the Department of Health regulates asbestos and lead abatement companies and workers.
This guide spotlights several representative licenses and authorities for Vermont to help you get oriented; we update it periodically. Always pair licensure with local building permits and inspections where required, and verify that your scope of work aligns with the credential you hold.
Use the Quick Navigation to jump directly to electrician, plumbing, HVAC-related specialties, general contracting/roofing, and other specialty credentials. Each section summarizes eligibility, exams, fees, insurance, and renewal cycles with links to the official sources for details.
Quick Navigation
Overview of Vermont Contractor Licensing
Vermont licenses major construction trades statewide. The Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety (DFS) regulates electricians and plumbers through the Electricians’ Licensing Board and the Plumbers Examining Board, and also issues fire protection-related technician certifications and elevator/conveyance licenses. DFS provides licensing forms and a growing online portal for certain trades and renewals.
The Vermont Secretary of State’s Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) administers Residential Contractor Registration for covered residential construction projects and licenses water well drillers. The Vermont Department of Health regulates asbestos and lead abatement companies, supervisors, and workers, including annual training and licensing requirements.
For water well compliance, the Department of Environmental Conservation manages well reporting and points applicants to OPR for driller licensing. Across all agencies, applicants should confirm current forms, fees, and code editions referenced by exams before applying or scheduling tests.
Browse all Vermont contractor license practice tests →
Electrician Licenses in Vermont
Vermont regulates electrical work with 4 license types.
Master Electrician
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Official information: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/electrical
Eligibility
- Experience: At least two years licensed as a Vermont Journeyman under 26 V.S.A. Chapter 15, or equivalent training/experience acceptable to the Board.
- Education: Completion of an electrical apprenticeship or equivalent training, plus any Board-required modules (including Vermont energy goals).
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Exam name: Vermont Master Electrician. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Questions/Time: 105 questions, 300 minutes.
Allowed materials: National Electrical Code and Vermont electrical rules as permitted by ICC’s bulletin.
- General theory and calculations
- Branch circuits, feeders, services
- Grounding and bonding
- Overcurrent protection
- Wiring methods and materials
- Special occupancies/equipment
- Vermont-specific rules and administration
Retake policy: Governed by the Board and ICC; additional education may be required after multiple failures.
Fees
- Initial license: $150
- Renewal (3 years): $150
- Late penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Electrical code updates and the Vermont energy goals module
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 15
Journeyman Electrician
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Official information: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/electrical
Eligibility
- Experience: Completion of a registered electrical apprenticeship (instruction and supervised work processes) verified by the Vermont Apprenticeship Council, or Board-accepted equivalent.
- Education: Related classroom instruction as part of the apprenticeship or approved equivalent education.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Exam name: Vermont Journeyman Electrician. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Questions/Time: 90 questions, 240 minutes.
Allowed materials: National Electrical Code and Vermont electrical rules as permitted by ICC’s bulletin.
- Branch circuit and feeder calculations
- Grounding and bonding
- Wiring methods and installations
- Overcurrent protection
- Motors and transformers
- Special occupancies
- Vermont electrical safety rules
Retake policy: Set by the Board; additional Board-approved education is required after multiple failures.
Fees
- Initial license: $115
- Renewal (3 years): $115
- Late penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Electrical code updates and the Vermont energy goals module
Source: 26 V.S.A. § 903
Type-S Journeyman Electrician — Appliance and Motor Repairs (D4)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Licensing portal/ledger: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Experience: Accredited training and specialty experience in appliance and motor repairs recognized by the Board, or equivalent experience acceptable to the Board.
- Education: Board-approved specialty training in appliance and motor repair.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to verify. Format: Written specialty exam covering theory and practice in this field.
Topics include:
- Appliance wiring and controls
- Motor repair and protection
- Applicable NEC sections
- Vermont electrical safety rules for specialty work
Fees
- Initial license: $115
- Renewal (3 years): $115
- Late penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Specialty code updates; Vermont energy goals module if applicable
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal (license ledger)
Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to confirm fees for examination scheduling, insurance minimums if contracting as a business, and any current renewal education specifics before applying.
Type-S Journeyman Electrician — Well Pumps (E5)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Licensing portal/ledger: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Experience: Accredited training and specialty experience in well pump electrical installations recognized by the Board, or equivalent experience acceptable to the Board.
- Education: Board-approved specialty training in well pump electrical systems.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to verify. Format: Written specialty exam covering theory and practice in this field.
Topics include:
- Well pump circuits and controls
- Grounding and bonding in well systems
- Applicable NEC requirements
- Vermont electrical safety rules for well installations
Fees
- Initial license: $115
- Renewal (3 years): $115
- Late penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Specialty-related topics as required by the Board
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal (license ledger)
Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to confirm exam scheduling fees, insurance minimums if operating a contracting entity, and current renewal education details before applying.
Plumbing Licenses in Vermont
Vermont regulates plumbing work with 5 license types.
Master Plumber
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Plumbers Examining Board. Official information: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Experience: Hold a Vermont Journeyman Plumber license for at least 12 months under 26 V.S.A. Chapter 39, or document equivalent training/experience acceptable to the Board.
- Education: Completion of a plumbing apprenticeship and related instruction or equivalent Board-accepted education.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Exam name: Vermont Master Plumber. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Questions/Time: 105 questions, 240 minutes.
Allowed materials: International Plumbing Code and Vermont plumbing rules as permitted by ICC.
- General regulations and definitions
- Fixtures, fittings, appliances
- Water supply and distribution
- Sanitary drainage and venting
- Storm/roof drainage and special systems
- Plans/isometrics; business and law for contracting
Retake policy: Board-approved tutoring required after three unsuccessful attempts before retesting.
Fees
- Initial license: $120
- Renewal (2 years): $120
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- Continuing education: 8 hours on Vermont plumbing code and approved topics
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 39
Journeyman Plumber
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Plumbers Examining Board. Official information: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Experience: Completion of a registered plumbing apprenticeship (instruction and supervised work processes) verified by the Vermont Apprenticeship Council, or equivalent Board-accepted training and experience.
- Education: Related classroom instruction within an approved apprenticeship or equivalent program in plumbing/hydronics.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Exam name: Vermont Journeyman Plumber. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Questions/Time: 75 questions, 180 minutes.
Allowed materials: International Plumbing Code and Vermont plumbing rules per ICC.
- General knowledge and math
- Fixtures/fittings; water heaters
- Water supply and distribution
- Sanitary drainage, vents, traps, interceptors
- Storm/roof drainage; plan reading/isometrics
- Safety
Retake policy: Up to three attempts during eligibility; tutoring required before a fourth attempt.
Fees
- Initial license: $90
- Renewal (2 years): $90
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- Continuing education: 8 hours on Vermont plumbing code and approved topics
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 39
Plumbing Specialist — Water Heater Specialist (P1)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Plumbers Examining Board. Information: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Experience: Instruction, training, and experience acceptable to the Board in water heater installation/service; specialty hours as required.
- Education: Board-approved specialty training in water heater systems.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Time: 120 minutes.
- Sizing and installation
- Combustion air and venting
- Safety devices and controls
- Code requirements for installations
Fees
- Initial license: $50
- Renewal (2 years): $50
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- Continuing education: Specialty-related topics as required by the Board
Source: DFS Licensing
Contact the Plumbers Examining Board to confirm ICC exam fee, any current insurance expectations for business entities, and renewal education specifics before applying.
Plumbing Specialist — Heating System Specialist (P2)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Plumbers Examining Board. Information: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing
Eligibility
- Experience: Instruction, training, and experience acceptable to the Board in residential/industrial/commercial hydronic systems; steam system limits per Vermont rules.
- Education: Board-approved training in hydronic heating design and installation.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Time: 240 minutes.
- Hydronic system design
- Boilers and distribution piping
- Controls and safety devices
- Steam system limits and code
Fees
- Initial license: $50
- Renewal (2 years): $50
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- Continuing education: Specialty-related topics as required by the Board
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 39
Contact the Plumbers Examining Board to confirm ICC exam fee, business insurance expectations if contracting, and current renewal education details before applying.
Plumbing Specialist — Water Treatment Specialist (P3)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Plumbers Examining Board. Licensing portal/ledger: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/licenses-web-portal
Eligibility
- Experience: Instruction, training, and specialty experience acceptable to the Board in water treatment systems.
- Education: Board-approved training in water treatment installation and maintenance.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: ICC. Format: Open-book, multiple-choice. Time: 120 minutes.
- System design and installation
- Backflow prevention and cross-connection
- Equipment code requirements
- Safety and environmental considerations
Fees
- Initial license: $50
- Renewal (2 years): $50
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- Continuing education: Specialty-related topics as required by the Board
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal (license ledger)
Contact the Plumbers Examining Board to confirm ICC exam fee, business insurance expectations if contracting, and any current renewal education specifics before applying.
HVAC Licenses in Vermont
Vermont regulates HVAC contractors with 2 license types.
Vermont does not issue a single “HVAC contractor” license. HVAC-related electrical scopes are covered under Electrical Type‑S Journeyman specialties; hydronic heating is covered under the plumbing specialist framework. The credentials below address electrical aspects of heating, cooling, and refrigeration systems.
Type-S Journeyman Electrician — Automatic Gas/Oil Heating (A1)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Licensing portal/ledger: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/licenses-web-portal
Eligibility
- Experience: Accredited training and experience in automatic gas or oil heating (including geothermal/ground source heat pumps), or equivalent acceptable to the Board.
- Education: Specialty HVAC training covering fuel‑burning equipment and controls.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: Contact the Board to verify. Format: Specialty exam covering NEC and Vermont rules applicable to heating equipment.
- Automatic gas and oil heating systems
- Geothermal/ground source heat pump controls
- Combustion and safety controls
- Electrical requirements for fuel‑burning HVAC equipment
Fees
- Initial license: $115
- Renewal (3 years): $115
- Late penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Heating systems and NEC updates
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal (license ledger)
Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to confirm exam scheduling fees, any business insurance expectations if contracting, and current renewal education details before applying.
Type-S Journeyman Electrician — Refrigeration or Air Conditioning (C3)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Licensing portal/ledger: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/licenses-web-portal
Eligibility
- Experience: Accredited training and experience in refrigeration or air conditioning (including air‑to‑air heat pumps), or equivalent acceptable to the Board.
- Education: Specialty HVAC‑R training covering refrigeration cycles, AC systems, and electrical controls.
- Minimum age: 18.
Examination
Provider: Contact the Board to verify. Format: Specialty written exam on electrical aspects of refrigeration and AC.
- Equipment wiring and controls
- Air‑to‑air heat pump requirements
- Motor and compressor controls
- Safety and code compliance
Fees
- Initial license: $115
- Renewal (3 years): $115
- Late penalty: $25
Insurance
Not required by the Board for individual licensure.
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Refrigeration/AC and code updates
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal (license ledger)
Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to confirm exam scheduling fees, any business insurance expectations if contracting, and current renewal education details before applying.
General Contractor Licenses in Vermont
Vermont general contractor licensing includes 2 types.
Vermont regulates residential contracting via registration through the Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) for projects meeting statutory thresholds. Commercial general contracting does not have a separate state competency license, but businesses must comply with permits, insurance, workers’ compensation (when employing staff), and other applicable laws.
Residential Contractor Registration — Individual
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Secretary of State — Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). Program page: https://sos.vermont.gov/residential-contractors/
Scope
Registration is required before contracting with a homeowner to perform residential construction (including roofing and similar work) valued at $10,000 or more, inclusive of labor and materials, unless exempted by statute.
Requirements
- Experience: No formal experience requirement; must meet statutory compliance conditions.
- Education: No trade education requirement; attest to using a written contract meeting statutory disclosures.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees
- Application/Initial: $75
- Renewal (2 years): $75
Insurance
Required: General liability insurance with minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- No CE requirement specified
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 106
Residential Contractor Registration — Business Organization
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Secretary of State — Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). Program page: https://sos.vermont.gov/residential-contractors/
Scope
Required for business entities that contract with homeowners for residential construction valued at $10,000 or more, inclusive of labor and materials, subject to exemptions.
Requirements
- Experience: No explicit experience requirement; designate responsible parties and meet compliance conditions.
- Education: No trade education requirement; attest to written contracts meeting statutory disclosures.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees
- Application/Initial: $250
- Renewal (2 years): $250
Insurance
Required: General liability insurance with minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- No CE requirement specified
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 106
Roofing Licenses in Vermont
Vermont regulates roofing contractors with 1 license type.
Roofing work on covered residential projects is regulated through Residential Contractor Registration administered by OPR. Trade‑specific roofing exams are not required by the state; verify building permits and inspections with the local jurisdiction for each project.
Residential Contractor Registration (Roofing Work)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Secretary of State — Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). Program page: https://sos.vermont.gov/residential-contractors/
Scope
Registration is required before contracting with a homeowner to perform residential construction, including roofing, valued at $10,000 or more (labor and materials).
Requirements
- Experience: Not specified by statute.
- Education: Not specified; must use written contracts meeting statutory requirements.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees
- Application/Initial: $75
- Renewal (2 years): $75
Insurance
Required: General liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate.
Renewal
- Every 2 years
- No CE requirement specified
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 106
Specialty Trade Licenses in Vermont
Vermont regulates specialty trades with 17 license types.
Specialty credentials include water well drilling, elevator and lift mechanics and inspectors, asbestos and lead abatement roles, and fire protection technician certifications. Many specialties emphasize accredited training, NICET or similar credentials for design, and annual or periodic renewals; fees and application methods vary by authority.
Water Well Driller License — Water Well Driller
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Secretary of State — Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). Program portal: https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/
Scope
Constructs wells to locate, extract, or recharge groundwater, or for heat transfer applications.
Requirements
- Experience: As specified by OPR rules for well drillers.
- Education: Any training requirements set by OPR well driller rules.
- Minimum age: 18.
Renewal
Every 2 years (per statute). Additional CE, fees, and application details are established by OPR rule.
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 107 and DEC Well Driller Reporting
Contact OPR to confirm current fees, insurance expectations, experience documentation, and renewal specifics before applying.
Water Well Driller License — Monitoring Well Driller
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Secretary of State — Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). Program portal: https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/
Scope
Constructs, services, or closes wells drilled for monitoring groundwater quantity or quality.
Requirements
- Experience: As set by OPR rules for monitoring well drillers.
- Education: Training per OPR rules.
- Minimum age: 18.
Renewal
Every 2 years (per statute). Additional CE, fees, and application details are established by OPR rule.
Source: 26 V.S.A. Chapter 107
Contact OPR to confirm current fees, insurance expectations, experience documentation, and renewal specifics before applying.
Elevator Mechanic License (ELE)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. Conveyances program: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/elevatorsconveyances
Scope
Erects, constructs, wires, alters, replaces, or maintains conveyances in public buildings as permitted by DFS rules.
Requirements
- Experience/Education: Qualifications as established by the Board and Commissioner for elevator mechanics.
- Minimum age: 18.
Source: DFS Elevators/Conveyances
Contact DFS to confirm fees, insurance minimums, experience documentation, and renewal details before applying.
Lift Mechanic License (ELL)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. Conveyances program: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/elevatorsconveyances
Scope
Work on platform lifts and stairway chairlifts under DFS rules.
Requirements
- Experience/Education: Qualifications as established by DFS rules for lift mechanics.
- Minimum age: 18.
Source: 21 V.S.A. § 145
Contact DFS to confirm fees, insurance minimums, experience documentation, and renewal details before applying.
Elevator Inspector License (ELI)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. Conveyances program: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/elevatorsconveyances
Scope
Inspects conveyances in accordance with DFS rules, with knowledge of design, installation, operation, and maintenance standards.
Requirements
- Experience/Education: Inspection qualifications and training per DFS requirements.
- Minimum age: 18.
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal
Contact DFS to confirm fees, insurance minimums, experience documentation, and renewal details before applying.
Asbestos Abatement Worker
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Performs asbestos abatement activities inside containment areas under a licensed supervisor.
Requirements
- Experience: Meet VDH requirements for abatement work within containment.
- Education: Accredited Asbestos Abatement Worker training (Model Accreditation Plan); annual refresher required.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $60
- Renewal: $60 (every 1 year)
Asbestos Abatement Supervisor
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Supervises asbestos abatement activities and personnel inside containment areas.
Requirements
- Experience: At least four months (16 40‑hour work weeks) of asbestos abatement experience inside containment, plus supervisory duties.
- Education: Accredited Asbestos Abatement Supervisor training; annual refresher required.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $120
- Renewal: $120 (every 1 year)
Asbestos Abatement Company
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Entity license for companies performing asbestos abatement; must employ licensed supervisors and comply with permitting and regulatory requirements.
Requirements
- Personnel: Employ licensed Asbestos Abatement Supervisors; ensure workers maintain current accredited training.
- Insurance: Liability insurance appropriate to asbestos abatement work as required by Vermont regulations.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $600
- Renewal: $600 (every 1 year)
Source: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses and 18 V.S.A. Chapter 26
Lead Abatement Company — Target Housing & Public Buildings
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Company credential for lead abatement in target housing and public buildings; must employ licensed Lead Abatement Supervisors.
Requirements
- Personnel: Supervisors and workers complete accredited lead abatement training approved by the Commissioner.
- Insurance: Appropriate liability insurance as required by Vermont lead regulations.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $600
- Renewal: $600 (every 1 year)
Source: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Lead Abatement Company — Superstructures & Commercial Buildings
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Company credential for lead abatement in superstructures and commercial buildings; must employ licensed supervisors for this classification.
Requirements
- Personnel: Supervisors and workers complete accredited training specific to superstructures and commercial buildings.
- Insurance: Appropriate liability insurance per Vermont regulations.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $600
- Renewal: $600 (every 1 year)
Source: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Lead Abatement Supervisor — Target Housing & Public Buildings
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Supervises lead abatement projects in target housing and public buildings.
Requirements
- Experience: Meet state requirements for supervisor-level experience and training.
- Education: Accredited lead abatement supervisor training.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $120
- Renewal: $120 (every 1 year)
Source: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Lead Abatement Supervisor — Superstructures & Commercial Buildings
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Supervises lead abatement projects in superstructures and commercial buildings.
Requirements
- Experience/Education: Accredited supervisor training specific to these occupancies; meet VDH experience requirements.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $120
- Renewal: $120 (every 1 year)
Source: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Lead Abatement Worker — Superstructures & Commercial Buildings
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Health — Asbestos and Lead Regulatory Program. Licensing information: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Scope
Performs lead abatement work under supervision in superstructures and commercial buildings.
Requirements
- Experience/Education: Accredited Lead Abatement Worker training approved by the Commissioner.
- Minimum age: 18.
Fees and Renewal
- Application/Initial: $60
- Renewal: $60 (every 1 year)
Source: VDH Asbestos & Lead Licenses
Fire Alarm Systems Inspectors Certification of Fitness (TQP)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. Program page: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/t1-fire-alarm
Scope
Certification of Fitness for inspecting and testing fire alarm and detection systems. Applicants typically hold an appropriate Vermont electrical license (Master, Journeyman, or G7(c) Type‑S for commercial fire alarms).
Requirements
- Experience/Education: Training in fire alarm inspection/testing per DFS standards; appropriate electrical licensure required.
Source: DFS T1 Fire Alarm
Contact DFS to confirm application method, fees, insurance expectations if operating as an entity, and renewal details before applying.
Fire Sprinkler Systems Technician (T3)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. Program page: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/t3-fire-sprinklers
Scope
Installation, maintenance, repair, and testing of water‑based fire protection systems. Designers must hold NICET certification or a fire protection engineering license; technicians must meet DFS training standards.
Insurance
Liability insurance appropriate to fire sprinkler work is required per DFS requirements (amounts set by program guidance).
Source: DFS T3 Fire Sprinklers
Contact DFS to confirm fees, insurance minimums, experience documentation, and renewal details before applying.
Domestic Fire Sprinkler Technician (T8)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. Program page: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/t8-domestic-fire-sprinkler
Scope
Limited work on domestic fire sprinkler systems (NFPA 13D) and limited fire sprinkler systems with no more than six sprinklers for isolated hazards.
Insurance
Liability insurance appropriate to domestic fire sprinkler work is required per DFS requirements (amounts set by program guidance).
Source: DFS T8 Domestic Fire Sprinkler
Contact DFS to confirm fees, insurance minimums, experience documentation, and renewal details before applying.
Type-S Journeyman Electrician — Commercial Fire Alarms (G7c)
Regulatory Authority
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — Electricians’ Licensing Board. Licensing portal/ledger: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/licenses-web-portal
Scope
Electrical specialty for commercial fire alarm systems including installation, programming, testing, and maintenance.
Eligibility & Examination
- Experience/Education: Accredited training and experience in commercial fire alarm systems, or equivalent acceptable to the Board.
- Exam: Specialty written exam including NEC, NFPA 72, and Vermont rules for fire alarm systems (provider confirmed with Board).
Fees
- Initial license: $115
- Renewal (3 years): $115
- Late penalty: $25
Renewal
- Every 3 years
- Continuing education: Fire alarm and code updates as required by the Board
Source: DFS Trade Licenses & Renewals Portal (license ledger)
Contact the Electricians’ Licensing Board to confirm exam scheduling fees, any business insurance expectations if contracting, and current renewal education details before applying.
Application Process
- Identify the trade and license or registration type required (electrician, plumber, HVAC specialist, elevator mechanic, well driller, asbestos/lead abatement, residential contractor).
- Determine the correct regulatory authority: Division of Fire Safety for most trade licenses, Office of Professional Regulation for residential contractors and well drillers, and Department of Health for asbestos and lead abatement.
- Complete the appropriate license or registration application form from the authority’s website, providing personal identification, compliance certifications (tax, child support, judgments), and any required references.
- Document required experience and education, such as apprenticeship completion certificates from the Vermont Apprenticeship Council or Vermont Department of Labor, specialty training certificates, and affidavits of on‑the‑job hours signed by supervising licensees.
- Submit the application with applicable fees and supporting documentation. For many DFS trade licenses, applications are submitted by mail; selected renewals and certifications use the DFS Trade Licenses and Renewals Web Portal.
- For licenses that require examinations (electrician and plumber licenses and certain specialists), await approval and then schedule the exam through ICC or other exam providers as directed by the board.
- Pass the required examination(s) and pay initial license or registration fees to receive the wallet‑sized license card or registration certificate.
- Maintain the license or registration by renewing on the statutory cycle, completing any required continuing education, and updating insurance and contact information through the appropriate portals.
Timeline: For electrician and plumbing licenses, the timeline from application to license issuance is typically several weeks to a few months, depending on exam scheduling and Board review. Residential contractor registration through OPR can often be completed online within days if documentation and insurance are in order.
Online services: DFS is rolling out online licensing services over time; some initial trade applications still use fillable PDFs submitted by mail. The DFS web portal is available at https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/licenses-web-portal. Residential Contractor Registration is administered online through OPR at https://sos.vermont.gov/residential-contractors/.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does it take to get a contractor license in Vermont?
Electrician and plumber licensing typically takes several weeks to a few months depending on Board review and exam scheduling. Residential Contractor Registration through OPR can often be completed within a few days once your insurance and disclosures are ready.
Can I transfer my license from another state to Vermont?
Vermont does not offer automatic reciprocity for electricians or plumbers. The boards may credit comparable training and experience from other jurisdictions, but applicants generally must meet Vermont’s requirements and, when applicable, pass the Vermont exam.
What happens if I fail an exam?
ICC and the Vermont boards set retake rules. Electrician and plumber candidates may retest, but additional Board‑approved education or tutoring is required after multiple unsuccessful attempts.
Do I need insurance?
Yes, for certain credentials. Residential Contractor Registration requires general liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate. DFS also requires appropriate liability insurance for certain fire protection technician credentials. Individual electrician and plumber licenses do not require insurance from the Board, but businesses should carry coverage appropriate to their operations.
How do I renew my license?
Renewal cycles vary by credential. Electrician licenses renew every 3 years; plumbers and plumbing specialists renew every 2 years; Residential Contractor Registration renews every 2 years; asbestos and lead abatement licenses renew annually; some DFS technician certifications specify renewal periods in program guidance.
Are local permits still required?
Yes. While licensing is issued at the state level for the trades listed here, local jurisdictions issue building, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permits and perform inspections. Always check with the city or town where work is performed to confirm permitting, plan review, and inspection requirements.
Where can I find practice tests for Vermont exams?
We offer comprehensive PDF practice tests for Vermont contractor license exams. Each guide typically contains 1,500–2,500 code‑relevant questions with complete answer keys and reference locators pointing to exact code sections. Study offline at your own pace; no time or use limits. Browse Vermont contractor practice tests.
Vermont · Practice tests
Vermont contractor license practice tests
The Vermont practice tests we publish today: comprehensive PDF guides, typically 1,500 to 2,500 questions each, with full answer keys and reference locators to the exact code sections. We add new tests regularly, so if your license isn’t listed here, contact us and we’ll build it.
- Business, Law, and Project Management (NASCLA) Reference Practice Test
- Installing Hardwood Flooring NOFMA - Reference Practice Test
- National Electrical Code (NEC) 2017 Practice Test
Related Official Resources
Official Sources for Further Details:
-
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety – Electrical Licensing
https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/electrical
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Statutes Title 26, Chapter 15 – Electricians and Electrical Installations
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/015
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Licensed Occupations – Electrician
https://www.vtlmi.info/licocc.cfm?page=license&licenseid=electric
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
International Code Council Contractor/Trades Examination Bulletin – Vermont
https://www.iccsafe.org/wp-content/uploads/bulletins/CO_VT.pdf
Exam Provider | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety – Trade Licensing and Certifications
https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/licenses-web-portal
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Statutes Title 26, Chapter 39 – Plumbers and Plumbing
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/039
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Secretary of State – Residential Contractors
https://sos.vermont.gov/residential-contractors/
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Statutes Title 26, Chapter 106 – Residential Contractors
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/106
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation – Well Driller Reporting
https://dec.vermont.gov/water/groundwater/well-driller-reporting
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Department of Health – Licenses, Certificates & Permits (Asbestos and Lead)
https://www.healthvermont.gov/environment/asbestos-lead-requirements/licenses-certificates-permits
Official Board Site | 2026-05-14 | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Statutes Title 18, Chapter 26 – Asbestos Abatement
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/18/026
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Statutes Title 26, Chapter 107 – Well Drillers
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/107
State Statute | Accessed: 2026-08-16 -
Vermont Department of Public Safety – Elevators/Conveyances
https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/elevatorsconveyances
Official Board Site | Accessed: 2026-08-16
Important Disclaimer
Information Currency: This guide reflects licensing information as available in 2026. Licensing requirements are subject to change without notice. Always verify current requirements with official sources.
Official Contacts: For current information, reach out to the Vermont Division of Fire Safety, the Office of Professional Regulation, or the Vermont Department of Health using the links above. DFS general licensing page: https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing; Phone: 802‑479‑7564.
No Legal Advice: This guide provides general information only. Consult with the licensing board or a qualified professional for guidance specific to your situation.
Local Permits: State licenses do not replace local building, electrical, plumbing, or mechanical permits. Always coordinate with your local building department.
